The seedings are here

9/21/2018 12:34 PM | |  Jonas Rasmussen
The seedings for DANISA DENMARK OPEN presented by VICTOR are now released and we are happy to see four seedings to the Danes and seedings to all the world champions.

Viktor Axelsen, Mathias Boe/Carsten Mogensen, Mads Conrad/Mads Kolding and Mathias Christiansen/Christinna Pedersen are seeded for this year’s HSBC BWF World Tour Super 750 tournament in Denmark. The best seeding for the Danes goes to Viktor Axelsen who is top seeded in men’s singles – just in front of the world champion Kento Momoto who we are looking forward to watching in Odense Idrætshal.

Last year’s winner in men’s singles Kidambi Srikanth is seeded as number seven and the four times champion Chen Long is seeded as number five.

In women’s singles, Tai Tzu Ying is the favourite to go all the way but she will be challenged by strong appointments like Yamaguchi (2), Sindhu (3) and the winner of last year’s edition of the world second oldest badminton tournament Ratchanok Intanon (4). Not to mention Carolina Marin who is seeded five. It is for sure a close race.

Two Danish doubles are seeded in the men’s doubles category. Mathias Boe/Carsten Mogensen (5) and Mads Conrad/Mads Kolding (6). Boe/Mogensen managed to win DANISA DENMARK OPEN presented by VICTOR in 2010 – that is their only victory on home court and they will have to play their best to beat pairs like world champions Li Junhui/Liu Yuchen (2) and world ranking number one Kevin Sukamuljo/Marcus Gideon (1) on the way to the title.

The defending champions from China Zhang Nan/Liu Cheng are seeded as number three – maybe they will be able to take the gold medals two years in a row? 

The category of women’s doubles is dominated by Asian countries. It’s the only category at DANISA DENMARK OPEN 2018 presented by VICTOR without any seedings for the European players.

But with or without seedings for the Europeans, the category is strong with four Japanese doubles: Fukushima/Hirota (1), Takahashi/Matsutomo (4), Yonemoto/Tanaka (5) and world champs Nagaha/Matsutomo (6). 

Chen Qingchen/Jia Yifan (2) and Greysia Polii/Apriyani Rahayu (3) will probably be the first to challenge the Japanese doubles but have a close eye on Lee So Hee/Shin Seung Chan (7) who won the category last year.

Read more: A badminton festival for the stars  and everybody else

Finally, the mixed doubles category. This category will be fun to watch with a lot of contenders to the title. To Chinese doubles are seeded for the final as Zheng Siwei/Huang Yaqiong are first seeded and Wang Yilyu/Huang Dongping as second seeded.

Look at all the seedings here:
Seedings in men’s singles:
1: Viktor Axelsen, DEN 
2: Kento Momota, JPN
3: Shi Yuqi, CHN
4: Chou Tien Chen, TPE
5: Chen Long, CHN
6: Son Wan Ho, KOR
7: Kidambi Srikanth, IND
8: Kenta Nishimoto, JPN

Seedings in women’s singles:
1: Tai Tzu Ying, TPE
2: Akane Yamaguchi, JPN 
3: P. V. Sindhu, IND 
4: Ratchanok Intanon, HA
5: Carolina Marin, ESP 
6: Chen Yufei, CHN
7: He Bingjiao, CHN
8: Nozomi Okuhara, JPN  

Seedings in men’s doubles:
1: Kevin Sukamuljo/Marcus Gideon, INA
2: Li Junhui/Liu Yuchen, CHN
3: Zhang Nan/Liu Cheng, CHN
4: Keigo Sonoda/Takeshi Kamura, JPN
5: Mathias Boe/Carsten Mogensen, DEN 
6: Mads Conrad-Petersen/Mads Pieler Kolding, DEN
7: Fajar Alfian/Muhammad Rian Ardianto, INA 
8: Takuto Inoue/Yuki Kaneko, JPN

Seedings in women’s doubles:
1: Yuki Fukushima/Sayaka Hirota, JPN
2: Chen Qingchen/Jia Yifan, CHN
3: Greysia Polii/Apriyani Rahayu, JPN
4: Ayaka Takahashi/Misaki Matsutomo, JPN 
5: Koharu Yonemoto/Shiho Tanaka, JPN
6: Wakana Nagahara/Mayu Matsumoto, JPN
7: Lee So Hee/Shin Seung Chan, KOR  
8: Jongkolphan Kititharakul/Rawinda Prajongjai, THA

Seedings in mixed doubles:
1: Zheng Siwei/Huang Yaqiong, CHN
2: Wang Yilyu/Huang Dongping, CHN 
3: Tontowi Ahmad/Liliyana Natsir, INA
4: Tang Chun Man/Tse Ying Suet, HKG
5: Mathias Christiansen/Christinna Pedersen, DEN
6: Chan Peng Soon/Goh Liu Ying, MAS
7: Goh Soon Huat/Shevon Jemie Lai, MAS
8: Chris Adcock/Gabrielle Adcock, ENG

Together with our sponsors, DANISA (title sponsor), HSBC (World Tour sponsor), VICTOR, Total, Grundfos, Mille, Sport Event Fyn and Holstebro Rejsecenter and our partners BWF, Odense Kommune, Visit Odense, Scandic, Midtfyns Bryghus and TV 2 SPORT we are looking forward to welcoming you to DANISA DENMARK OPEN presented by VICTOR from October 16-21 in Odense Sports Park.


Delete item?