Photo: Badminton Europe

28 teams to fight for six #EMTC21 spots

7/3/2020 10:05 AM | |  Emilie Sommer (BEC)

The entry list is ready. Soon it is time to see who will join Finland and Denmark for the 2021 European Mixed Team Championships.

Badminton Europe is happy to announce that 30 countries have entered the 2021 European Mixed Team Championships (EMTC). Denmark and Finland will qualify directly for the #EMTC21 as holder and host. The remaining 28 teams will be competing for the six final spots for the 2021 EMTC which will take place in Vantaa, Finland. 

The qualification stage will consist of six groups. Four teams will be drawn into each of Group 1, 2, 3 and 4 respectively, while Group 5 and 6 will each consist of six teams, drawn into two subgroups of three. 

Countries taking part in the qualification – listed in ranking order as per the BWF World Ranking of 17 March 2020:

England (1st seed)

Russia (2nd seed)

Netherlands (3rd seed)

Germany (4th seed)

France (5th seed)

Spain (6th seed)








Czech Republic














Isle of Man

The qualification stage will take place in week 50 (9-12 December) on 6 different locations around Europe. The winners from each qualification group will join the reigning champions Denmark and hosts Finland at the final stage.

The strong teams entered

Jimmy Andersen, Deputy General Secretary of Badminton Europe, will be conducting the draw, and he is happy to see all the strong nations taking part in the qualification. 

- I am pleased to see that all of Europe’s strongest teams have entered the competition. It is also worth to mention that Isle of Man has entered one of our events for the very first time – it will be interesting to see the outcome of their draw next week and eventually follow their ties in December.


- The concept of the European Mixed Team Championships has proven to be a success since being introduced back in 2014. Having the chance to promote your national team at home, in front of a home crowd, is a rare thing in badminton, so it is not a big surprise that almost half of the entered countries are interested in hosting a qualification group. I am really looking forward to the group stage in December and to see who will join Finland and Denmark at the finals in February next year.

The draw for the #EMTC21 will take place 7 July 2020 at 14.00 CET. Here the 22 unseeded teams will be drawn into the six groups on random basis.

© All rights reserved.

Delete item?